Anti-Inflammatory Tonic

Did you know that the spice, turmeric, has anti-inflammatory tendencies? Part of the ginger root family, it can also aid in fighting cancer-causing agents. Memorial Day was all food and all drinks, naturally. But, as with any end to a long weekend, I need to spend my first weekday on some serious detoxing to flush the weekend away and get myself re-focused on the next week’s tasks.

Usually, I make my ginger+lemon water to boost my metabolism; however, I have had this tiny turmeric root in the kitchen for weeks and this small amount was just enough for what I needed to rejuvenate and experiment with a new tonic. I’ve been sipping on it while I write this post and I do have to say: the taste was more scary built-up in my mind than it actually is! The warmth of the water almost resembles this as an Indian broth-my opinion. I have personally become accustomed to trying the different flavors of wellness so I don’t mind this at all, if you feel it’s too “curry” then add a small amount of honey or cinnamon to sweeten it up.

I will probably just stick with buying turmeric powder spice than the root, the clean up is just too much hassle when I have a busy day ahead. Cutting and peeling the turmeric root can stain everything yellow/orange, scrubbing and soap helps, but as I said that depends on the time you have for cleaning up. You can still follow these instructions and use whichever root or powder you prefer.

IMG_1123

What’s needed:

  • Turmeric
  • Ginger
  • Lemon
  • Filtered water

In a small saucepan, bring filtered water to a boil (I made enough for one coffee mug full).

Add: turmeric|ginger|lemon slice to taste (I chopped up a 1-inch turmeric root and 3-inch ginger root)

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Continue to boil it all for 5mins. Then bring to a simmer for 10-15mins.

Pour tonic into a mug and top off with the lemon slice.

Enjoy!

IMG_1122

Leave a Reply

