Caprese Salad Wrap

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

When the season gets hotter, I prefer my lunches to get lighter! Think about it, we all by nature still tend to hibernate during the colder days. So, naturally, having lighter, less-filling meals are more preferred during warmer days…and hey, it helps with the summer beach bod too, huh?

I wasn’t able to make my daily smoothie this week due to my spinach going on recall. Good thing I hadn’t opened the bag yet! I already had the ingredients to make a caprese salad with the notion in mind that I would pair it with avocado and a poached egg. Well, when I began to make lunch today I opened the fridge and OH YEAH I still have wraps leftover from last week’s pre-Cinco De Mayo dinner. BOOM BOOM goes my dynamite, well my epiphany. I can cancel the egg and create my own caprese salad wrap with avocados.

Earlier in the week I already pre-made my caprese salad to allow it to sit for at least a day in the fridge. It just tastes better, to me, when the salad can sit…soak?…in the vinaigrette dressing.

IMG_0881

What you need:

  • 1 Avocado
  • Organic tomatoes
  • 1 Mozzarella cheese ball
  • 1 Annies balsamic vinaigrette
  • Fresh basil leaves (the store was out that day so I had to stick with dried basil spice)
  • Cracked black pepper
  • Himalayan pink sea salt
  • Lemon juice
  • Sandwich wraps

If you don’t know how caprese salad is made: go layer-by-layer with the tomatoes, mozzarella and basil. Lastly, top off with a drizzle of the vinaigrette-you can drizzle to taste, but I prefer not to have the dressing overpower the dishes flavor.

Mash the avocado with the lemon juice|cracked pepper|Himalayan salt with a fork, just as I did in my E.A.T. Toast recipe. Make as a base spread for the wrap first.

Avocado

Then, add the caprese salad to top off the wrap. Mine was able to hold 3 small size tomato slices. Drizzle a tad more balsamic vinaigrette, wrap it all up and YUM! Let me know what you think, I’d love to hear 🙂

IMG_0896

UPDATE:

I used one of those small containers found in those Starbucks protein snack boxes (you know what I’m talking about?) to hold my vinaigrette. It all perfectly fits in a flat, rectangular tupperware container.

It’s the perfect fit for an easy to-go lunch for the office!

FullSizeRender-7 2

Leave a Reply

