Finals, Wine and Llamas

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Finals week, the death of all students. If you’ve read my bio, you know I am a graduate student almost done earning her MBA, whew! Finals are a week of nerves and tiresome and all anyone wants after stepping out of that last final is some sort of relief, a celebration. I, myself, had to spend my whole finals week doing a solo case analysis on healthcare along with chugging through a 12 page study guide-8 chapters-for an MIS class (computer systems and information for business, essentially). Erik came into town for a doctor appointment so I took his company as an excuse to distract my stressed brain. Seriously, I was stumped for 2 DAYS on the financial analysis/income statement part of my case analysis for Marketing. We decided to grab a snack at our favorite go-to place in downtown Winston-Salem, Quanto Basta. And by snack, I mean our typical cheese board. Their’s is the best, but we will take cheese and wine from anywhere really 😉 You could almost say it’s our couple “signature.” It was a hot, North Carolina Wednesday so I opted for some bubbly this time instead of wine.

IMG_0785

Wine came after finals. I had my MIS final on Saturday 10:30am and eased my mind that evening with my mom at a local vineyard, Westbend, for some wine and crackers. As you can see from the picture, having a vineyard in the outskirt country of Winston is a plus when the sun sets. But, the wine celebration still continued…

IMG_0800

On Sunday my best friend Lauren drove into town to celebrate me being done with finals, which meant I was 5/6 done with grad school! We did some shopping first-I had to get myself updated on the latest sun glasses style-and then headed over to East Bend, NC for wine and llamas |WINE+LLAMAS| This place is roughly 90mins. from Charlotte too. Divine Llama Vineyards. Talk about an adult petting zoo and an adventure for an afternoon! You can bring your own food/snacks or they have a food truck on site. And, of course, they sell their wine by the bottle, glass, or you can do a tasting. But, that’s just the vineyard part. The vineyard shares property with a llama farm so you can walk around and see the grapevines and llamas in their fence. Sometimes the staff will put them on a leash and walk them up to the guests to pet and take pictures with while sipping vino.

IMG_0828

Other than the cute fascination with these odd, funny creatures, this farm was so beautiful and in a prime location to where you could see Pilot Mountain just past the main farmhouse. The llamas were just too much for my, so please excuse my many photos, as I couldn’t narrow them down. If anyone is interested, I HIGHLY recommend getting family and/or friends together and spending a day here. You won’t regret the experience!

IMG_0820

FullSizeRender 4

I was lucky enough to finish my finals a week before the rest of my school. So, for any of you out there still chugging along, nerves wracked, hoping that finals aren’t the death of you. Take a deep breath, know when you’ve studied all you can, give yourself small rewards along the way and BEST BEST of luck to all of you for a happy end of semester, congratulations!

Leave a Reply

